Cussing

I like to cuss.  Growing up it was the one thing I could openly do.  I had to sneak cigarettes and have sex in the basement and drink beers in a field but I could cuss in front of Mom and Dad.  Mind you, I couldn’t cuss AT them only WITH them.  I couldn’t call my brother a shit head, but I could tell a story about a shit head at school. 

I didn’t have to modify a joke.  I could say "Hell" and not "H-E-double toothpicks"  I would slip and say "asshole" rather than "a-hole" when referring to someone and my mother would focus more on my anger (clearly indicated by my choice of words) rather than the semantics of the sentence. 

I learned quickly when I could push it with a cuss word and when to hold back.  I think my mom’s theory was that when I was really pissed off if I could come home and swear and get it out, I wouldn’t do drugs or other bad stuff.  Honestly, it worked.  I was one of the few people that could be the same person at home and at school.  My friends liked hanging out and talking with and in front of my parents because they didn’t have to pull the Eddie Haskel routine of faking it and pretending to be something they weren’t. 

Over time I discovered that I would actually feel emotions and release them rather than pushing them down with a package of ding dongs or a vat of alcohol.  To this day I tend to solve my problems by bitching about them first.  I can think better by hearing myself rant and rave (and cuss) out loud.  I swear myself into a solution, so to speak.   

When I started this blog I was worried about saying "fuck" in the first posting.  What if a business associate reads my blog?  What if someone is considering hiring me but doesn’t because of my potty mouth?  Maybe I should ease people in and slowly reveal this bad habit over time. 

Truth be told, I like the word.  I think most people say it and the ones that don’t secretly want to.  Being able to say it and having friends and family that don’t shit their pants when they hear it has made a huge difference in my life. 

So I’m going to color my language and this blog, with cuss words.  I do promise to NEVER drop the c-bomb (that word is just nasty) but I reserve the right to cuss my way to clarity as needed.

4 responses to “Cussing

  1. Linda!!! I consulted with you one time about 18-24 months ago, I dis-remember now. But, I’ve been catching up on your blog since receiving your newsletter information this morning, and I gotta say, this post makes me think we must be kindred spirits! When I go on a rant, I cuss like a sailor! and, my dad never minded it after I was about 15 or so. Go figure!! Cuss away, it *does* help the clarity! šŸ™‚

    Lisa

  2. Hey Lisa,
    Nice to hear from you. I do remember meeting with you. Hope you’re doing well. Thanks for commenting on my blog – have a great weekend.

  3. I agree 100%. My way of venting is to certainly bitch about it and what better way than to blog it out. There are so many worse things we could be doing! That’s the way I look at it!

  4. Exactly Tirzah- things like murder, mayheim, tying someone up, dipping them in a vat of honey then releasing thousands of red ants…. šŸ™‚

    Cussing seems tame compared to that.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    Cheers,
    Linda

Leave a Reply

