Dogs, Divorce Or Darfur?

I wanted to comment on the situation in Darfur, so I surfed the net to get my facts and figures straight only to find that all the headlines from yesterday on major mainstream web sites (CNN, ABCNEWS, MSNBC, FOXNEWS) are gone.  In fact, if it wasn’t for that cute and charismatic George Clooney, would we even know hundreds of thousands of Darfur’s inhabitants were being mutilated?

Or course not, because we have bigger fish to fry in our press.  Important goings on like the state of Bobby Brown and Whitney Houston’s marriage and what Britney named her baby.  We can’t be bothered with genocide right now, Dog the Bounty Hunter has been arrested.

When I watch documentaries about the holocaust, I like to think that if it had happened during this generation filled with technologically advanced weaponry, satellite imaging and instantaneous communication we would have nipped that shit in the butt before it even got started.  Yet here we are calmly discussing the pros and cons of maybe, sorta, kinda, stopping a genocide in the Sudan.

I keep asking myself, what can I do to make a difference?  Well there’s the teacher from Ephrata, Washington that has vowed not to shave until Osama Bin Laden is caught.   Poor guy is making the members of ZZ Top look like clean shaving school boys.  I do have a chin hair that needs an occasionally tweezing.  I could let it grow willy nilly until the violence stops.  Or better yet, not shave my legs until the genocide has ended.  But would my hairy legs draw attention to the Sudan or would it just draw attention to the fact that we pay more attention to quirky headlines in lieu of concerning ourselves with world events?   

I’ve sent my money to the Save Darfur organization.  I’ve contacted my officials and forwarded emails to the prez.  I’ll be buying a green wristband to wear and picking up some lawn signs.  I’m not sure what else I’m supposed to do.  I can’t go there.  I have no Jack Bauer-like skills that would allow me to stop the Janjaweed militia even if I weren’t limited to a 24 hour time frame.  I don’t own a gun and don’t know how to shoot one if I were given one.  I have no international, diplomatic connections and I’m not sleeping with anyone on the UN Security Council.  So, I’ll keep praying.  And bitching.  And moaning.  And hoping. 

And spreading the word.  Join me. 

Leave a Reply

