Anger = Expression?

I logged on to post today and realized that I wasn’t moved to say a thing.  I’m not perturbed, pissed, annoyed or inspired to express myself in any way.  Which got me thinking, why do I need to be perturbed, pissed, or annoyed to be inspired to express myself?

I do this a lot.  Annoyances make me chatty.  I’ll call a friend and say, “Can I bitch?” wanting to get whatever is bugging me off my chest so I can move on.  Literally, bitching and moaning for 15 minutes with a confidant allows me to release my anger and get on with my day.  More importantly, after bitching about a person, place or thing I can quickly move forward to find the humor in the situation.  So although my anger might spark the conversation, I don’t stay in anger for a long time, but it is certainly the catalyst that gets me thinking, talking, and connecting with others.

Oddly enough, it’s a rarity for me to call a friend and say, “Can I gush?”  I don’t call friends to tell them how great I think my husband is or to brag about my children’s achievements, unless I’m calling the grandparents, because lets face it – they live for grandchildren gushing.   Positive remarks do come up in conversation with others.  I don’t only discuss bad things with my friends.  But as I’m typing this I’m realizing that I’m rarely motivated to BEGIN a conversation based on a positive whereas I will specifically seek someone out to discuss a negative.

Now I don’t know if this is good or bad or simply my way of interacting with the world.  I supposed there are people out there that look at a sunset and want to paint it, describe it via poetry, or write a song about it.  Whereas I look at a sunset, think about how bad my eyes hurt while viewing it, then bitch to someone about how shitty my sunglasses are.

I’ll have to think about this some more.  When I figure it out I’ll be sure to share it, unless of course it ends up being something phenomenal and fabulous – then I’ll probably keep it to myself.

2 responses to “Anger = Expression?

  1. Pingback: We Live On A Rockdon’t « Enter The Circle

  2. Even if you were to gush, people really don’t want to hear about it. Nothing angers people more than a person boasting about the good things in their life. Sad, but true.

Leave a Reply

