Why?

I remember Nixon boarding the helicopter when he left the White House.  I was five, standing in my living room in front of the television eating peanut butter toast.  My mom said he had lied so he had to stop being the President.  I was surprised.  He was the President.  I didn’t think they lied.  They do.  We got used to it.

I remember when I heard that an adult had raped a kid.  I was kid.  My mom said to make sure that I never let anyone touch my privates.  I was horrified.  He was an adult.  I didn’t think adults hurt kids.  They do.  We got used to it.

I remember when I heard that a priest I knew was sleeping with a lady in town.  I was a teenager.  My mom said that lots of people knew about it.  I was surprised.  He was a priest.  I didn’t think they broke their vows.  They do.  We got used to it.

I remember when I heard that a mother had killed her own kids.  I was a mother myself.  My mom was sad to hear the news as well.  I was surprised.  She was a mother.  I didn’t think a mother could kill her own kids.  They do.   We got used to it.

I remember when I heard that children had been shot and killed while in school.  I had kids in school at the time.  My mom said she never worried about that back when I was in school.    I was surprised.  They were kids.  I didn’t think kids could die just from going to school.  They do.  We got used to it.

I remember the first time I saw an Amish family driving on the side of the road in their horse and buggy.  I was a kid zooming by in a car with a radio and air conditioning.  My mom said that they lived a simple life and although they didn’t have the "luxuries" we had, they didn’t have the same "problems" we had either.  I was intrigued.  They were different but seemed happy and unaffected.  They’re not now.  The question is, will we get used to this too?

Leave a Reply

