Dove Rocks

Have you seen the new Dove commercial?  It’s called, Evolution and it’s for their "Campaign For Real Beauty".  It shows a young women sitting down without her make up on or her hair done and her "evolution" to being featured on a billboard.  From the first dab of concealer to the digitizing of her face you see how she goes from a real person to a computerized version of herself.  At the end of the clip it states, No wonder our perception of beauty is distorted.

I’m not naive.  I know that celebrities are airbrushed before landing on the cover of magazines, movie posters and CD cases – but I thought they were just having zits removed, wrinkles erased or extra flab shaved off their ass.  I didn’t think they were getting eye lifts and their necks elongated.

I’m also surprised that certain celebrities with lots of power and clout don’t refuse to be digitized on the basis of false advertising.  Rosie O’Donnell never allowed herself to be airbrushed on the cover of her magazine.  I really respected that.  I think Oprah should do the same thing.  I think she should tell her staff to work their magic with makeup, lighting, wardrobe and hair and leave the post production out of it.  We’d still buy her magazine.  He’ll, we’ve seen her without makeup on television.  We know what the broad looks like without her eye-lashes on and in her "fat jeans".  We can handle a non-airbrushed cover.  Cfrb_firming_campain_icon_1

So BRAVO to Dove.  I love this commercial.  I love that there’s a campaign for real beauty.  I love that real women in their underwear posed for their campaign last year.  I love that they give a damn.  I love that they have a fund to support self-esteem programs around the globe.

I love this so much that I’m slowly replacing all of my toiletry products with Dove products.  I use the body lotion, shampoo and conditioner.  As soon as I run out of deodorant I will be replacing my Secret with Dove.  Same for hair spray, and anything else they sell.  And lets be clear – Dove hairspray is a hell of a lot more expensive than the White Rain that I buy for .99 cents, but that’s okay.  I’m worth it.  The campaign for real beauty is worth it.  My daughters are worth it. 

Consider supporting Dove with your dollars the next time you go to the store.  And if you do spend $15, send in your receipt and you can get a free t-shirt.  Click here for more info: 

One response to “Dove Rocks

  1. HI, finally got around to reading your blog, and my god, girl, you are blowing me away! It’s visually gorgeous, end user friendly design, and I am totally jealous of what you’ve accomplished in such a short time.This post in particular I love.

    YOU ARE AMAZING!!!!

Leave a Reply

