Disney Recap

We head home later this morning.  Our week at Disney World has been a lot of fun.  I’ve had lots of "blogable" thoughts these last 6 days.  Here are a few.

God love the parents that take young kids to Disney.  The strollers, the tantrums, the parents that can’t ride because they’re sitting with their little one.  You have more patience than I do. Bravo.

They have thought of every feasible way of turning a mouse into a product.  I think I saw a colostomy bag covered in mouse ears for sale in Tomorrow Land.

I’ve never seen so many people riding scooters due to obesity.  Sure there were folks that were obviously suffering from medical conditions that required a scooter – but many simply were too overweight to walk so much in one day.

You’ll walk between 15,000 and 20,000 steps per day in Disney.  If you’re not used to walking that much, start to train before you leave and make sure you bring comfortable and cushioned walking shoes.

Pulling my kids out of school for 3 days to take them to Disney during an "off time" was brilliant.  Not having to wait in long lines in 100 degree heat was worth having a little extra homework to get done.  Any guilt I felt was gone once I realized how much we were able to see and accomplish.  Considering the expense of this trip, I’m glad I got my money’s worth.

Whatever "fit-as-a-fiddle" feelings I experienced being passed by heavy-set scooter drivers were quickly dashed as I sat at La Nouba, Disney’s Cirque De Soleil show.  The fact that people can get their body to fly through the air, tumble, dance, flip and jump like that made me want to go workout as soon as we left the theater.   

I’m fortunate that my kids are less than 3 years apart in age.  My youngest was old enough and tall enough to ride all of the rides while my oldest was still young enough to be seen in public with her parents.   It made for an enjoyable trip.

And finally, kudos to my kids.  They were great this week.  They got along, tried new foods, stood in long lines, faces some fears, learned new things, did a TON of walking and even got soaking wet one day without complaining. 

Leave a Reply

