Meme

I was tagged by The Blog That Ate Manhattan to list out my seven song meme (as in a singer’s vocal warmup…me, me, me, me, me, me, me).  I couldn’t possibly condense my favorite song list to seven, so instead I’ll focus on the first seven that pop into my head.  Let’s start with the one playing in there right now.  Jem

I’m really into Jem (thank you Jane, my cool 17-year-old neighbor) for playing this CD when I came over for a visit a few months ago.  I’m particularly partial to the songs "24" and "They".

Metisse "Boom Boom Ba" is a favorite of mine from Metisse.  If you watched the Showtime Original Series, Dead Like Me – you’ve heard this song.  For some reason it frequently takes residence in my brain – I’m not sure why.   

Aerosmith_2 Aerosmith is my favorite rock band.  I just rode the Aerosmith Roller Coaster at Disney.  Doing loop-da-loops in the dark with "Love In An Elevator" blasting from the speakers was a blast.  Listening to my 8-year-old sing "Walk This Way" throughout Disney MGM Studios was hysterical. 

Yogagroove When I need to take it down a notch, I pull up my "yoga" play list on my IPod.  Om is my favorite cut from this Soulfood CD to get me breathing and chilled out in a flash.  The songs have a nifty groove to them for when you want something relaxing but that wont leave you feeling like you’ve fallen into a coma.  Great driving music or for playing in the house when I feel that the decibel level and/or attitudes are getting out of control.

CowboyjunkiesThe Cowboy Junkies is my favorite overall band.  I have the following CD’s: The Caution Horses; Black Eyed Man; Pale Sun, Crescent Moon; The Trinity Sessions; Lay It Down; Miles From Our Home; One Soul Now; and Rarities, B Sides and Sad, Slow Waltzes.  My first favorite song was Misguided Angel from the Trinity Sessions Cd and I believe the greatest love song ever written is White Sail from Pale Sun, Crescent Moon. 

I loAmorissetteve the song, Spineless from Alanis Morissette’s So-called Chaos CD.  I think all young women should be forced to listen and understand the irony and underlying message of this song before being allowed to date.  And more importantly, all boys should be forced to listen as well.  Here’s a taste of the words to give you an idea: 

I’ll be subservient and spineless / I’ll lick your boots as empty shells / I’ll be opinionless and silent / I’ll be the prettiest appendage to ever lose herself

I feel this, truly proclaimed will help the curbing of this tendency / I know this sharing of shame will ensure that I won’t forget myself so easily

I’ll be low-maintenance and agreeable / I will not talk about my dreams so much / I’ll listen to you for hours, won’t need anything

Danger Lastly, I’m becoming a big fan of Mashups, songs made from combining different songs.  For example, Hurts Like Teen Spirit by Dangerous Orange that combines Nirvana’s Smells Like Teen Spirit with Johnny Cash’s version of the Nine Inch Nail’s song, Hurt with Blue Oyster Cult’s (Don’t Fear) The Reaper, along with a New Order song.  WHEW – did you follow that?

Whitneylauper I know, it sounds weird, but when masterfully put together – it becomes an ongoing musical loop in your brain.  Like Girls Just Want To Dance With Somebody by DJ Earlybird which is a mashup of Whitney Houston and Cyndi Lauper.  Check out Mashuptown to get links to the latest and greatest mashup creations.urts Like Teen Spirit by Dangerous Orange

2 responses to “Meme

  1. Okay, here’s my one Aerosmith brush with greatness…

    I was in the elevator in the Four Seasons in West Palm Beach, and this guy gets in., He looks like Mick Jagger, but different, and very cleaned up. He sees my struggling to tie the strings on the sleeves of my cotton shirt (it has one of those tie up sleeve thingies), and offers to tie them for me. I let him.

    Of course, I learned a few minutes later from my open mouthed coleagues that it was Steven Tyler.

    Nice guy…

  2. You know TBTAM – I envy you for a lot of reasons but your brush with rock and roll royalty really solidifies your place of greatness in my mind. 🙂

    It’s always good to hear that someone you like from afar is nice up close as well. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

