See My Point

It really matters to me that others see my point.  They don’t have to like my point, agree with it or even understand it.  Just see it and acknowledge it.  That’s all I ask because I do it all the time.

Like if you’re a right-wing conservative that thinks being gay is wrong.  I get it.  You read it in a bible.  A man of the cloth told you from a pulpit that being gay is wrong.  Perhaps your parents echoed similar sentiments during your formative years.  I see your point.  I see why it makes sense to you.  I don’t agree with it.  I think it’s a shitty idea to spread around, but I get it.  I can see where you are coming from.

I figured out recently that having someone else see my point for what it is, and honoring it makes all the difference to me.  I just need some validation.  Some, "Hmmm, I never thought of it that way" consideration.  Even if considering my theories and ideas only solidifies the opposing opinion, that doesn’t bother me at all, as long as you see where I’m coming from. 

I used to need folks to agree with.  I needed to be right.  That isn’t important to me anymore.  But dismiss me and damn, I’m like a crazy lady teetering on the edge.  It drives me insane.   

I’ll guess someday I’ll evolve to not needing others to recognize my points what so ever.  I assume this comes with age – as my progesterone dries up it’ll get replaced with "I don’t give a damn" hormones.  I just hope it happens before I lose all of my teeth, stop plucking my chin hairs and wearing bras on a regular basis. 

Leave a Reply

