Resolutions

This year my resolutions are focused on long term goals.  Rather than having specific "to dos" that can be done and checked off my list I have skills that I want to develop and focus on in 2007.

Img_0717_2
Learn Italian:
  I was going to learn before I went to Italy (in
2004).  I didn’t.  I should have
learned when my great grandmother,
Secondina, was alive.  I didn’t.  What am I waiting for?  Time to order
those Rosetta Stone CD’s and get moving on this goal.

P1000118
Better Understand The Cooking Process:
  A few weeks ago I invented a soup.  It was based on a soup I had tried that included kale and Spanish sausage, neither of which I had in my fridge.  So I pulled out my pot, began riffling through staples and leftovers and intuitively created a soup.  It was delicious.  It was nutritious.  And it was an amazing feeling to create it on the fly.   I’ve discovered that nothing gives me more pleasure than creating a dish without following a recipe.  So my goal is to better understand that mechanics of cooking, flavor combining and how to execute a dish so that I can create it as I go, using the ingredients that I have on hand.

 P1000019_1P1000015
P1000008
P1000011

P1000033

Take Better Pictures:  Enough said. 

What are your goals for 2007?

2 responses to “Resolutions

  1. Keep reading this blog.

  2. My goal is to work on some quilting patterns that I’ve been tossing around in my head for a while. Who knows, maybe I can get enough for a book! 🙂

Leave a Reply

