Supreme Court

I’ve never met anyone that’s pro-abortion.

Ever.

I know a lot of people that are pro-choice. Pro-telling the government to stay out of their exam rooms, their panties and their informed medical decisions made with their doctor, but never anyone that’s out and out, pro-abortion.

beaver1.jpeg
“Gee willickers Wally, wouldn’t it be great if we lived in a world where women weren’t junkies and men didn’t rape women 11,000 times each day and everyone always had protected sex and all women received prenatal care and pregnant mothers never had any medical complications?”

wally.jpeg
“Sure Beav, that would be swell.” (Insert Mentos commerical smile and thumbs up signal here).

Too bad it doesn’t work that way.

I’m lucky. I’ve never had to make the decision whether or not to end a pregnancy. But I liked knowing that I had an option if need be. Abortion being legal didn’t push me to have sex sooner or make me promiscuous. I didn’t have sex in high school because I wanted to go to college and have a life and I knew that my boyfriend would at some point (like the moment I stepped foot on the University of Pittsburgh campus) become my ex-boyfriend and I didn’t want to fuck up my future. And maybe it’s because I’ve been to an abortion clinic and held the hand of a friend that had to make that difficult decision. It’s not fun.

So yes, I’m pro choice, but I’m not anti-life and I resent the implication that you’re only pro-life if your anti-choice. Frankly, I’m pro-quality of life and think that it should be allowed to be considered when a women becomes pregnant and something goes horrifically wrong or her life is put at risk.

Wouldn’t it be great if all the folks that have politicized this personal and medical issue just joined forces and I don’t know, maybe became pro-child? You know pro-children that get to come into the world to clean and sober parents that love them and raise them well. Pro-let’s not beat the shit out of kids or sell them for sex. Pro-lets not overindulge our kids so they don’t emerge into the real world with a sense of entitlement and a shitty work ethic. Pro-kids that are mentally balanced and able to handle the pressures of life.

All the time, energy and money spent on trying to overturn Roe V. Wade could be better spent making sure the kids already walking the Earth have half a chance. I believe we saw first hand this week what happens when a child slips through the cracks.

If you would like more information regarding the Supreme Court’s decision earlier this week click here.
If you would like Ruth Bader Ginsburg’s Dissent specifically, click here.
If you just want to know the basics about Dilation and Extraction Procedures as well as who’s for and who’s against it, minus the legaleze – click here.
If you don’t think all of this is politically motivated and the future of abortion rights in this country are at risk, ask yourself why the term “partial birth abortion” is even used considering that it is not a medical term.
If you’re a conservative, right wing, type person that wants to comment on this post and bash me for my thoughts, chew on this before you hit “send”.

Owning a gun doesn’t make you pro-I want to kill people. Gun owners fiercly protect the Second Amendment. Even though I could show them horrific pictures of folks killed by guns or describe to them in great detail what happens when a bullet rips through another person’s skull, they still want the right to bear arms.

I completely agree with them. How they feel about guns is how I feel about my reproductive rights and my ability to make an informed medical decision with my personal physician. So I’ll stay the hell out of their gun cabinet but I expect them to stay the hell out of my uterus.

2 responses to “Supreme Court

  1. Been away form the blogosphere for awhile, and reading your blog is one of the highlights of my return. So well written, so insightful, love the one about Al Sharpton, and you said what everyone was thinking but didn’t way about Elizabeth’s cancer. Yoiu are so much mroe courageous thatn I am i putting yourself out there. In fact, I think you should have a newspapare column, my dear. You can start with the Frederick paper….

  2. That’s so sweet. Thanks TBTAM! I feel that way about your blog. I’m entertained, smarter (and craving some cool new food) after reading yours. Hey we should interview each other for our blogs. That would be fun!
    Enjoy your weekend,
    Linda

Leave a Reply

