Great Neighbors

p1000552.jpg

I know I was looking good,
I had my Kenneth Cole shoes on,
My Gianni Versaci blue leather suit,
My nails were done and my hair was fierce
And I was riding in Cooper’s Limosine.

~ From The Men All Pause by Klymaxx

p1000599.jpg

My neighbors had a 25th Anniversary Party last Saturday and since they met in Germany in the 80’s they served brats and German potato salad while they pumped out the jams from my youth. Now I can’t get the above, damn song out of my head. There was a DJ, dancing, drinking, eating and at one point because my husband seems obessed with it, a few (maybe 6) fireworks were lit. The legal kind that don’t fly off anywhere, just make a lot of sparks and noise.

What was great is that someone called the cops on us. How cool are they that after 25 years of marriage they can still throw a party worthy of police assistance? Or better yet – how uncool is someone that a few fireworks and music at 9:30 on a Saturday night requires calling the fuzz?

I need another song in my head, pronto. And if you still have your Gianni Versaci blue leather suit – send me a picture.

2 responses to “Great Neighbors

  1. Lisa in Frederick

    Darken the city, night is a wire
    Steam in the subway, earth is a afire
    Do do do do do do do dodo dododo dodo
    Woman, you want me, give me a sign
    And catch my breathing even closer behind
    Do do do do do do do dodo dododo dodo

    In touch with the ground
    I’m on the hunt I’m after you
    Smell like I sound, I’m lost in a crowd
    And I’m hungry like the wolf
    Straddle the line in discord and rhyme
    I’m on the hunt I’m after you
    Mouth is alive with juices like wine
    And I’m hungry like the wolf

  2. do, do, do-do, do, do-do, do, do-do, do, do-do, do, dooooooo

Leave a Reply

