NASCAR Baby

So today is a HUGE day. Today I experience my first NASCAR race. Yep. Me and 149,999 other people will be watching cars zip by in all of their colorful, corporate sponsored glory.

So far, I have no idea how this works. Why anyone would sit with ear plugs inserted to watch blurry cars while inhaling toxic exhaust fumes and burnt rubber is beyond me. Yet this race has been sold out for months and it’s 9:00AM and I’m sure folks are already up in Richmond tailgating for the damn thing. So there’s got to be something to it.

I’m usually asleep by 10:00PM. I don’t know how I’m going to stay awake for the entire thing. I’ve slept through fireworks, loud movies and part of the encore at a Springsteen concert (sorry Boss). I’m fairly certain that I can sleep through NASCAR. And I’m also fairly certan that if I do, I’ll risk a major ass kicking from all the crazed NASCAR fans that will be surrounding me. I’m thinking that bringing a book is a bad idea as well.

My brother John and his fiance Annette are going with us and as NASCAR veterans they will walk us through the day. They’ve made it very clear that we haven’t lived yet and will be a changed family come tomorrow. I’ll be sure to fill you in.

2 responses to “NASCAR Baby

  1. HI,
    I cannot wait to hear your report because like you. I JUST DON’T GET IT!!!!!!!!!

  2. I’ve been to one NASCAR event and it was enough for me. I got dizzy, hot, and the noise was way too much. I hated it. What a shot you go of that guy’s yucky ass!

Leave a Reply

