Be Afraid. Be Very Afraid.

I don’t know if you heard but it snowed here in Frederick, MD. Since my town is close to both Baltimore and Washington, DC I have the honor of having not only a local television station but access to ABC/NBC/CBS/FOX stations from both cities. In other words, I can pick from 9 local newscasts. You would think that with all that information at my disposal I would be fairly well informed. But when you consider the fact that all of this information is brought to me via scare tactics, well, you can no doubt understand why I’m just about ready to go on a complete news and information strike.

Yesterday morning, there were news crews out on the roadways sending back video of cars commuting to work, folks gathering supplies and salt being loaded into dump trucks while giddy meteorologists talked anxiously about the coming storm and anchormen asked viewers to email in their “first snowflake pictures” to hopefully be used on air. Schools were delayed and canceled while other schools got the day in and opted for an early dismissal. Our POSSIBLE 1 – 3 inch snowfall was discussed and analyzed ad nauseum. Then of course, there were the countless “reaction” stories to the actual snow fall. Video of citizens shoveling their walks, traffic problems and of course, more speculation on what was going to happen today due to the dangerous mix of wet roads and falling temperatures.

Now if I lived in say, Arizona or Florida, this insane amount of hype would be warranted. But I live in Maryland, a state that may not get the snowfall amounts of say, Canada, but none the less, gets snow. Every year. A couple of times each winter, actually. Really we’re not morons when it comes to winter weather.

There really doesn’t need to be this much fear factor involved in reporting on a basic winter weather event. It is December, a month traditionally associated with snow accumulation. So I guess what I’m trying to say is.

KNOCK IT OFF YOU STUPID SHITS!

Stop trying to scare the hell out of me. It’s fucking snow. Not a blizzard or the onset of another ice age, but normal seasonal temperature and precipitation fluctuations.

You are merely supposed to INFORM me. You are not supposed to INCITE or INFLAME me. I am so goddamn tired of this bullshit that if you don’t stop I will be forced to IGNORE you because, honestly, I don’t trust you anymore. I don’t think that you’re capable of telling me the truth. I believe that you are only interested in ratings that are directly proportional to how much I fear something. This approach, although great for your profit margin, is getting on my nerves.

It’s only December folks. It can snow as late as April here. Really, calm the hell down.

Leave a Reply

