The Trend Junkie

I met a very cool guy, Greg Cangialosi, on my flight to Chicago last month. He’s the writer/creator of the blog, The Trend Junkie, and CEO of Blue Sky Factory, an email marketing company. He was great to talk to and gave me a ton of information on the use of technology to brand yourself, your company and build your business.

This information was very helpful to me since I will be helping Sol Yoga update their email delivery system soon and I hope to also implement an email delivery system at my daughter’s middle school. I’m tired of paper correspondence that’s addressed to me being left crumpled up in the bottom of her backpack and locker. I think we all survived the upgrade from mimeograph machines to Xeroxed copies and it’s time for schools everywhere to bite the bullet and go digital with their communication systems.

Why? Well like the tree that falls in the middle of an empty forest, if you send a newsletter home and no one reads it, did it make a sound? No. Likewise, if you send an email and no one clicks it open, did you communicate your message? Well, sort of….by reading a well written subject line, I can get the “gist” of an email without opening it up completely, but truly, if you’re going to send an email you want the recipient to click on it. Thus implementing a delivery system is only step one of the process. Creating a system that people readily read and not delete is obviously a very important part. So I’m trying to look at the school’s email needs in the same way I’d look at a business’ email needs to create a functional system to exchange information.

My ultimate plan (insert hang wringing and evil laugh here) is to learn from these two endeavors and then use the information to build my own business/brand down the road. As I slowly research how to build a business via the web, digital media, digital communications, social media, blogging, etc.,etc.,etc., I have learned that frankly, I have a hell of a lot to learn.

Therefore, to all the digital media/business branding/marketing/technology experts out there:

You really need to write a book or a blog or host a web site that’s for BEGINNERS trying to navigate this territory for the first time. This book needs to have pictures and charts and other visual cues for the over 40 crowd. This book needs to use really small words and be free of hype and hip, digital lingo. You need to treat us like the idiots that we are. We know we’re idiots, but we’re idiots open to learning all of this new information. Come to think of it, a digital, ebook with live, active links to the sites and technologies that you reference would be the best scenario for us. Thus we could click through while we’re reading and fully grasp what the hell it is you’re talking about.

I’m not sure what happened to my brain, but it just can’t seem to keep up with all of this changing technology and terminology. I figured out the 8-track to cassette tape switch very easily. Had no problem with CD’s replacing my LP’s. I could get the clock on my VCR to not only stop flashing but tell the time. I even learned how to navigate both the PC’s and MAC’s without having a stroke or developing a facial tick. It’s been at least two years since I’ve bought a CD, opting to download all of my musical preferences. Yet, for some reason, this last frontier is fucking with me. I could use some hand holding here.

In the meantime, I keep exploring excellent sites like The Trend Junkie and I’m slowly figuring this shit out. Clearly I’m on the digital short bus, but I’m happy to report that it’s still moving forward and has yet to run out of gas. But like the Pennsylvania Turnpike, the road I’m on is littered with pot holes. This is definitely going to be a bumpy ride.

3 responses to “The Trend Junkie

  1. Thanks for the kind words. It was great meeting you as well šŸ™‚

    I agree, this world can be a little intimidating with all of the services, technologies, distribution mechanisms, etc…

    I have to admit, because I dont think we talked about it on the plane, but I am not sure if I told you about my new book “The Business Podcasting Book” – its a primer on podcasting (new media, distribution, marketing, etc) and was written for the non-technical person. Its for the business owner, VP of Marketing, CEO, Marketing Manager, etc..

    You can find it on amazon.com – just type in my last name šŸ™‚

    Maybe we will see you in Frederick!

    Best regards,

    Greg

  2. I go on a plane and the only person I meet is the stewardess and a screaming 3 year old…

    Seriously, this is a great post. Not sure where you are trying to take this internet stuff, but clearly you are a fast learner – hello, got this gorgeous site up on you own , and on wordpress not the stupid blogger that I use…GIve yourself a little credit.

    If I can recommend also doing a bit of reading on viral marketing – I’ve been reading about it lately (eggedon by a commeneter on my site) and it’s all part of the new world….

  3. Greg – I’ll definitely check out your book.

    TBTAM – WordPress is similar to typepad and blogger in that it’s a WYSIWYG site, but yeah, I’m slowly figuring this out. It looks like Greg’s book can help to explain it, so after I read it, I’ll report back. Seth Godin talks a lot about viral marketing in his books (many of which are free ebooks that you an download) and on his blog: http://www.sethgodin.com

Leave a Reply

