Slacker Goddess To The Rescue

Ahhhh…..the new year. A time for a new start. A new outlook. A new way of seeing the world and interacting with it. A time for resolving to change for the better. A time for hitting the bookstore to find that perfect self-help book that will help you resolve all of your lingering issues and finally make all of your dreams come true.

Yeah, right.

The truth is, I did not make any resolutions this year because I never keep them.

Ever.

Which got me thinking, Why don’t I keep them? What’s wrong with me that I can’t honor a commitment to myself?

I honestly have no idea. Growing up I got good grades because I was assigned projects, papers and given tests by others. I worked out only at the practices for my sporting teams, and never lost a bead of sweat on my own time. I signed up for clubs that had deadlines. Currently I clean my house because someone is coming by. I cook because I gave birth to children that need to be fed. In fact, I’m writing this blog right now because if I don’t my friends will bitch at me.

So rather than spending a ton of time in self-reflection and analysis paralysis getting to the bottom of my lack of personal accountability, I thought it might be better to simply except this trait and work with it. Therefore instead of making promises to myself, I made promises to others for the coming year.

Instead of resolving to get fit, I accepted an invitation to be on a 4 person relay team and enter the Frederick Marathon this May. Being a member of this team means that I will have to run a portion of the race. Since I’ve never run more than a mile without stopping, I will have to train for this. Training for this should, by default, increase my fitness. Because 3 other people are counting on me, I will in fact get it done.

I also picked up an extra volunteer day at the yoga studio, which now forces me to sign in students for 3 yoga classes per week. Since the yoga instructor is counting on me I’m certain that I will show up religiously. This again, by default, should increase my fitness level.

Since I also tend to put my business goals on the back burner, I met up with a friend to discuss joining forces for a particular project. Again, I’m hoping that having someone else count on me will result in actual results this year.

So I guess my resolution is to simply embrace my inner slacker and fully accept her, as is. Instead of fighting her urges, I’ve decided to put her in various situations that will make her look like a complete jackass if she doesn’t fulfill the promises that she’s made to others.

So here’s to year of: Avoidance tactics; Over-extending myself to others; and Allowing my lingering co-dependency issues to carry me to the finish line.

Self-help is overrated. Use what you got if you ask me.

5 responses to “Slacker Goddess To The Rescue

  1. Totally agree – this is the first year I did not make any resolutions, and I feel so great already.

    Perfection is our enemy.

    Happy New Year!

  2. Just so you know, there is a website to help you with your New Year’s resolutions. It’s MyGoals.com. Isn’t the internet amazing!

  3. Yea but I’d have to resolve to check the site. Seriously, my only hope is to be completely beholden to others. Sad but true.

  4. The site charges a fee, so I think they’d remind you.

  5. lOVE YOUR HONESTY. THIS RINGS SO TRUE. I WAS TORN ABOUT GOING TO YOGA YESTERDAY AND HAD SOMEONE BEEN WAITING FOR ME TO SHOW UP I WOULD HAVE BEEN THERE, INSTEAD I LET MYSELF DOWN AND STAYED HOME.

Leave a Reply

