I Survived!

I finished the 5K in about 37 minutes by running for 5 minutes and then walking for 2 minutes. I find that this approach works not only physically but more importantly mentally as I can pretty much do anything for 300 seconds without stopping.

Kudos to my friend Donna for staying with me the entire race even though she hasn’t trained or even run for that matter in a long time.

Kudos to Paige, Isabelle and Julia for running ahead of us and then sprinting anytime we were close to catching them – as pacers you did a great jog.

Kudos to everyone that came out in the rain for a good cause.

congo3.jpeg

And most importantly, kudos to Anette above. At the time of this photograph she was 9-years-old, the same age as my youngest daughter, and already a victim of a brutal rape. I put her photo on my phone and thought of her when I wanted to stop.

Dearest sweet Anette,
I survived a footrace today but you have survived the worst that the human race has to offer.
May you find peace and love.
May you understand your importance in this world.
May you step into your power.
May you always be safe and in control of your body.
May you somehow sense that across the globe a stranger thinks of you often and wishes you well.

The above photo was taken from the Christian Relief Network website.

3 responses to “I Survived!

  1. You go girl!

    Seriously, thanks for bringing this cause to my attention, and congrats on finishing the race.

  2. Thanks! I feel good about finishing and great about helping a worthy cause.

  3. Congrats to you!!!!! I am truly impressed!!

Leave a Reply

