Pregnant Man

I consider myself to be a pretty liberal, progressive and open minded person, but I’ve gotta be honest. I’m not sure how I feel about the pregnant man.

Is it the baby bump bulging from a body of a bearded bloke that freaks me out?

Is it the fact that someone wanted to be a man so bad that she would have her breasts removed, take testosterone and legally become male yet make the conscious decision to do something so female?

Am I just miffed because a man is staking claim to the one thing I can do that he can’t?

Or am I just getting narrow-minded and self-righteous in my old age? Is this how it starts? Am I on a slippery slope? Will I (gasp) start voting Republican and get a pin-up of Rick Santorum to hang in the garage?

The fact is, I have no problem with 2 men raising children. I just seem to take issue with a man bringing a child into the world. I also have no problem with someone feeling trapped in their body and wanting to change their gender, but seem to want this person to make a choice and not walk the fence on this one. Per the Oprah web site:

In 2002, Thomas opted to have his breasts surgically removed and legally became a man, but he made the conscious decision to keep his female reproductive organs. “I wanted to have a child one day,” he says. “I didn’t know how. It was just a dream.”

Thomas says the desire to have children doesn’t make him feel like less of a man. “I have a very stable male gender identity. I see pregnancy as a process, and it doesn’t define who I am. It’s not a male or female desire to want to have a child…it’s a human desire,” he says. “I’m a person, and I have the right to have my own biological child.”

The more I think about it – it’s the above statement that’s giving me pause. I want him to make a choice, damn it and I don’t know why. If he were on Oprah telling the world that he was bi-sexual, I wouldn’t give a shit. So what’s my problem?

He’s not hurting me. His wife’s on board. His grown step-children think it’s super. His neighbors are jazzed. Clearly they love each other. What do I care? The only issue that I can possibly hang my hat on is whether a woman, that has been taking hormones to become a man, puts her fetus at risk. Did nine doctors refuse to work with them for medical reasons or just ethical ones?

Or maybe I just need a learning curve? Does poor Thomas not get my stamp of approval just because he’s the first to do this? If he was the 100th pregnant man, would I care?

Do you?

4 responses to “Pregnant Man

  1. I do care. I think this is an abomination.

  2. Hi – I’m a Frederick resident (and Obama supporter too). I’ve been blogging on breaking news at the intersection of politics, peace, culture and spirituality at http://www.epharmony.com for three+ years. I like your blog! I wonder if you know of any blog experts I could hire in the area to help non-techy me get my blog content to more readers? Thx–Nancy Pace, njcpace@gmail.com or 301-788-6642.

  3. Hmm. I don’t think you’re going narrow-minded in your “old age”, lol. You sound more liberal than me and it’s interesting to think about why we feel freaked out by this guy having a baby. It’s a pregnant man! I think it’d be weird if it didn’t “give us pause”.

    I hadn’t heard that quote from Oprah before…“I’m a person, and I have the right to have my own biological child.”…what does that mean?? What about all the other men out there? They have their biological children through their wives… I guess the desire to give birth was one thing she couldn’t change when becoming a man. It does seem like fence-sitting to me, though.

  4. THAT IS NOT A MAN!!!!!!!! That is a confused dyke with a partial sex change and ‘it’ just wants some attention. Why in the hell would this bitch do this? That child is going to grow up fucked up in the brain because of the retarded ass people. And Oprah is just as retarded for having them dumb ass people on her show, she aint bout shit just doing it for ratings. Fuck these dumb ass people

Leave a Reply

