No Kidding

So now that the marathon relay is over, I’m an exercise machine, right?

Wrong.

You would think that slowly building up my running stamina would ensure my ability to get up every other day and run. Yet the second that race was over and I didn’t have to run – I didn’t.

It’s a sickness, I know. I’m not sure if it’s laziness or denial or just plain stupidity, but if I don’t have a goal, I don’t do shit. I will look for any way out possible, to avoid doing work. I realized this last Wednesday and I must say, by Saturday evening, I was feeling pretty crappy, both physically and mentally so I decided to do something about it which caught my husband by surprise.

Gary: What are you doing?

Linda: I’m online looking for 5Ks to sign up for this summer.

Gary: You know, after 17 years of marriage I never thought I’d hear that sentence come out of your mouth.

Apparently leaving him to be a lesbian or to join a Satanic cult would have been less shocking.

Since my ability to follow through with athletic endeavors is limited to my signing up and paying for contests, I allowed a gal from my relay team to convince me to since up for the The Dewey Beach Triathlon, which is a mini triathlon scheduled for this September

Let me be clear. This is a MINI triathlon. We’re talking about a 1/2 mile swim, a 7 mile bike ride and a 3 mile run. It’s at the beach which means no hills for the bike or the run. It also means that the worst case scenario is me walking the last 3 miles. Since I’m not trying to break any records and only trying to finish, walking is fine with me. My only issue will be the swim because:

  1. I can’t swim.
  2. I’ll have to swim in the ocean with various ocean creatures.
  3. You can’t really stop if you get tired.
  4. I’ll be in the novice group which means I’ll be surrounded by a ton of other lousy swimmers that at any moment could get a cramp, freak out, grab my leg to use as a flotation device and kill me this September.

I’m making progress. Last week I learned how to blow bubbles out of my nose and turn my head from side to side. It’s truly that bad. Honestly, these folks look like Mark Spitz compared to me.

2 responses to “No Kidding

  1. Linda,
    You inspired me to sign up for my first 5K, in yes…2 weeks. So I have been running, and it’s hard damnit! I totally admire you for doing the triathlon! good luck with that!
    K

  2. I am really proud of you! Are you talking about “The Deer Dash” at the end of the month? If so, I’m signing up for it as well, so I’ll see you there. We’ll have fun! Keep me updated on your progress!
    Cheers,
    Linda

Leave a Reply

