Finally 40

I haven’t blogged in a while. What a week to keep my mouth shut. I will slowly try to play catch up.

I turned 40 about 10 days ago. I woke up and started this new decade at Rehoboth Beach in Delaware – NICE! Then we headed home and I spent the evening at West Frederick Middle School’s “Back To School” event trying to get people to join the PTA.

I didn’t really care because my plan was to celebrate my birthday in September when a bunch of my friends from Pittsburgh come down. So when the weekend rolled around and my parents came down for a visit and my dad and I went shopping for toilets at Home Depot, I never thought that I was coming home to 40 people, waiting to surprise me in my backyard.

I did get a little nervous when I was blindfolded. You see the last time my kids blindfolded me they presented me with a bunch of gifts and told me that I had to guess with my other senses what they were. For example, I smelled coffee and deduced that I got a Starbuck’s Gift Card. I smelled and guessed the type of perfume they bought. Then when I tasted the dessert they made me I kept thinking to myself, Well all I taste is whipped cream. As I was trying to guess all of the deserts I like with whipped cream, they pied me!

Needless-to-say, when you’ve been pied in the past and someone blindfolds you and takes you outdoors, your first thought is, Damn, what the hell are they going to do to me this time? What kind of mess is involved that requires me to be outside? As you can imagine, a bunch of folks yelling surprise was a relief!

It was a lot of fun. The weather was amazing. The food was delicious. The decorations were out of control. The bar was stocked for lots of fun drinks. There were jello shots. You’ve got to love a party with jello shots! There was good music and even a dance-off at one point.

I have great friends and neighbors and I was touched that folks would go to the trouble. My parents and brother were able to be there which made it really special. I must say, my husband did a fantastic job. I was also pleasantly surprised that my kids were able to keep such a big secret from me. Looks like they’re growing up, or merely perfecting their lying skills for their teenage years – who knows?

It was a great way to say goodbye to my thirties. And to all you husbands out there, a great way to earn at least 6 months, if not more, of bonus points with your wife. Suffice to say, since my turning 40, Gary has gotten in many rounds of golf, a bunch of new golf shirts, and bought himself a new driver to boot.

One response to “Finally 40

  1. Happy 40! You look great, even with pie all over you face!

Leave a Reply

