Dr. Horrible’s Sing Along Election

A big hit in my house is Dr. Horrible’s Sing Along Blog which stars Neil Patrick Harris as Dr. Horrible, Nathan Fillion as Captain Hammer and Felicia Day as Penny.  The creator, Joss Whedon who decided to focus on the Internet when the writer’s strike kept him from creating for television, describes it as “…the story of a low-rent super-villain, the hero who keeps beating him up, and the cute girl from the laundromat he’s too shy to talk to.”  Dr. Horrible blogs about his attempts to impress Bad Horse, the head of the Evil League of Evil, as well as Penny as he works toward his ultimate plan of being inducted to The League and ruling the world with Penny by his side.   It’s the perfect plan until Captain Hammer shows up to steal his thunder, his girl and ultimately his humanity. 

It’s an ironic and  Wicked-like look at the villain and hero archetypes, how they’re affected by the concept of celebrity and what happens when, as one reviewer stated, “you become hollowed out by your own mistaken desires”.  The acting is on point with the players knowing when to exaggerate their performance for comedic effect without taking it too far.  I’m also happy to report that Harris, Fillion and Day sing really well (can you say Mama Mia?) 

Whedon released it free on the internet for a while until it was moved to iTunes to be purchased, (although I found a free version on a fan site.)  My kids downloaded the soundtrack, so often our car is filled with songs about one’s hopes and dreams as well as taking over the world (insert evil laugh here).

As we were singing along yesterday it hit me that the last few days of this campaign would be so much more interesting if we could have a Dr. Horrible’s Sing Along Election.  I’m so sick of 24/7 coverage, commentary and punditry that I’m actually fantasying about McCain and Obama breaking out into song.

It’s a scary visual.  I’ve seen Obama dance on Ellen, so he’s proven that he certainly has rhythm, but something tells me that he can’t carry a tune in a bucket.  And McCain’s unfortunate lack of upper body range-of-motion, means that any sort of song and dance would be painful to watch.   

I think my desire to creative a musical, ballot box is due to my recent observation that as this intense battle looms closer, everyone, myself included, is getting more and more riled up.  Suddenly lyrics about a fictional, wanna-be, uber-villian, can be applied to the candidates in this election.

Try it.  Listen to the following lyric and picture the guy that you’re NOT going to vote for.  

My Eyes by Neil Patrick Harris and Felicia Day

HORRIBLE:
Any dolt with half a brain
Can see that humankind has gone insane
To the point where I don’t know
If I’ll upset the status quo
If I throw poison in the water main
Listen close to everybody’s heart
And hear that breaking sound
Hopes and dreams are shattering apart
And crashing to the ground
I cannot believe my eyes
How the world’s filled with filth and lies
But it’s plain to see
Evil inside of me is on the rise

The old me used to think about my vote and my guy and this election in a more positive light.  Just for fun, sing the next lyric while picturing the man that you ARE going to vote for in your head. 

PENNY:
Look around
We’re living with the lost and found
Just when you feel you’ve almost drowned
You find yourself on solid ground
And you believe
There’s good in everybody’s heart
Keep it safe and sound
With hope, you can do your part

To turn a life around
I cannot believe my eyes
Is the world finally growing wise
‘Cause it seems to me
Some kind of harmony
Is on the rise.

See?  It’s just not as satisfying.  Twenty months ago I was coming from a place of positivity, but as of late, my inner Dr. Horrible is coming out.  Again, think of the guy that you’re NOT voting for and listen to the lyric.   

Brand New Day by Neil Patrick Harris

This appeared as a moral dilemma ‘cause at first
It was weird though I swore to eliminate the worst
Of the plague that devoured humanity it’s true
I was vague on the “how” – so how can it be that you
Have shown me the light

It’s a brand new day
And the sun is high
All the birds are singing
That you’re gonna die
How I hesitated
Now I wonder why
It’s a brand new day

All the time that you beat me unconscious I forgive
All the crimes incomplete – listen, honestly I’ll live
Mr. Cool, Mr. Right, Mr. Know-It-All is through
Now the future’s so bright and I owe it all to you
Who showed me the light

Everything seems so crystal clear.  My choice so obvious, brought to my attention not so much anymore by my guy, but due to my deep dislike of the other guy. (Or course I’m referring to a metaphorical death here in terms of ideas and ideologies, not the literal one that Dr. Horrible sings about, so relax.)  

Is it just me or are you also feeling more and more pissed off and ready for the damn election to be over? We definitely need a change of pace and no matter the outcome, a cooling off period to decompress when this is all said and done.  

 

One response to “Dr. Horrible’s Sing Along Election

  1. Alexwebmaster

    Hello webmaster
    I would like to share with you a link to your site
    write me here preonrelt@mail.ru

Leave a Reply

