Will Wrinkles Someday Be Extinct?

Clearly, I’m a little obsessed with this whole aging gracefully thing.  Because of this I thought I’d post some pictures of famous folks that have actually done it.  I can’t say for certain whether these women have been cosmetically enhanced in the past or currently partake in fillers and other non-invasive procedures. However, they appear to be allowing themselves to age.

I think that normal, non-famous women get so used to seeing cosmetically enhanced versions of ourselves (on television, in the movies and in magazines) that we forget what normal aging is supposed to look like.  We see normal women aging at the mall, at work, in the mirror and around the table at a family gathering, but then we catch a glimpse of a famous person and think, Why don’t I look like that? What’s wrong with me?

In lieu of this, I thought I’d post photos of beautiful, famous women that have embraced their age.

Jacqueline Bisset (64)

jacqueline-bisset-season-four-premiere-screening-for-niptuck-ly8xyj

jacbis

Susan Sarandon (62)

susan-sarandon-041508

rocky1

Julie Christie (67)

Oscars Arrivals

10111225ajulie-christie-posters

Lauren Hutton (65)

lauren_hutton_to_model_for_mango_at_64_imagesnewshome

5_12_75_300x400

Keep in mind a few things.  All of these women are over 60. Twenty years ago Botox wasn’t used for cosmetic purposes. Because they didn’t have this less invasive option, they were forced to age if they didn’t want to undergo surgery.  Whereas current celebrities have an arsenal of options to fill in lines, freeze their face, and plump up parts that are sagging.  Add to that the fact that cosmetic enhancements aren’t as taboo as before and you see my difficulty in finding famously, flawed, 40-year-old faces which makes me wonder… Will wrinkles someday be extinct?  Will women be reduced to aging in a creepy, frozen, fake way? Someday will all women look like a deer caught in the headlights?  Will women of the future have lips so big they smother small children and get in the way of taking communion?

jocelyn-wildenstein-ba

God I hope not.

6 responses to “Will Wrinkles Someday Be Extinct?

  1. I so agree with this article. If i were a writer i would have written it myself. We are so surrounded by every form of media telling us how to stay young that a woman feels that if she shows a line or grey hair that she is no longer attractive. We are sending such a damaging message to our daughters!We need to see a magazine that embraces all beauty not just the perfect air-brushed images that no average woman can ever achieve!!

  2. Thanks Debbie. I agree, our daughters are receiving some terrible messages, both audio and visual. I’ve always been shocked that Oprah didn’t take on this point of view with her magazine. She’s the queen of all media – she could easily ban air brushing from her covers and the photo spreads. Maybe she can’t control the advertiser’s ads, but she could control every other aspect and actually practice what she preaches each day.

  3. How are these women embracing their age when they’ve all gone under the knife? They found a better class of surgeon who didn’t distort their faces beyond recognition… but that’s hardly the same thing as letting nature take its course.

    Also, Botox has been in use since the late 80s. The practice started in Beverly Hills, wouldn’t you know…

    🙂

    • I have to say I disagree. I can see wrinkles on the women who’s pictures I posted- as opposed to puffy, smoothed out faces of older women that do a lot of botox. Also watch the movie, Away From Her, staring Julie Christie. I blogged about the movie and how exhilarating it was to see a beautiful 67 year old portraying a beautiful 67 year old in a film.

  4. Karena Soriano

    Loved the article! I feel the same way. I have to say though, these women -even if they haven’t gone quite as far as most of their peers- still look touched up. The average thirty year old woman has more wrinkles on her forehead than these beauties. And by saying “no way have they been touched” aren’t we perpetuating the problem? Obviously these beautiful women have not TOTALLY let nature take it’s course!

    • Karena – I have no idea if they do anything or not which I stated in the blog. But my theory is that Botox wasn’t approved for cosmetic purposes until 2002 (Per my research – Smileyface, I know you disagree – it was used in the 80’s like you said but for treatment of blepharospasm and strabismus – not for cosmetic use). So even if they do get injections now – unlike today’s stars that inject in before they even have wrinkles and start something they can’t possible finish – these ladies were forced to do things that didn’t radically change their face, i.e., looking good for being 50 or 60, etc.

      They also didn’t have the photoshopping that’s available today as they were aging in the limelight. I sometimes wonder when I’m looking at a photo if the actress has done something, or if the photo editor has done something. Even if someone embraces their wrinkles, the magazine can photoshop out what they want. Hell, they photoshop family and school pictures now – so who knows what people really look like? It’s getting a little crazy, that’s for sure.

      Thanks for stopping by my blog.
      Linda

Leave a Reply

