AHA Moment

I truly believe that cracking the weight loss code is like trying to crack the DaVinci Code.  Seriously.  I know tons of people, myself included, that at some point have been doing everything right only to get zip in terms of results.

Here we are, day 12 of the new year and I’m guessing some of you may already be feeling frustrated by your fitness regimen and are perhaps grabbing for a doughnut as you read this in disgust.

STOP!

Read this great article instead!  It has photos and more importantly, answers as to why long term aerobic exercise doesn’t work for fat loss.  Sure it’ll help your heart and that’s wonderful, but if you’re hoping to drop the pounds by spending hours upon hours at the gym on treadmills, ellipticals, or training for marathons or triathalons…trainer Rachel Cosgrove says, “Don’t get your hopes up, crazy lady.”  Instead, she suggests interval training and uses her own experience training for an Iron Man to back up her claims.

Thank you Michelle for posting this (and for somehow making a Prune Truffle look and sound good – didn’t know that was possible).

I’m very interested to know if others have had this same experience as well. I know I have and I can think of people that literally run their asses off but never seem to run their asses off.

Happy Health Everyone.

7 responses to “AHA Moment

  1. Kristin Smedley

    Great article, VERY motivating. Now can she tell me what to do EXACTLY? Do you have her book?
    I love that I don’t have to run to lose weight because honestly I hate running so much, it hurts my knees, my boobs, my brain..yuk!! I do have a kettle ball, and maybe it’s time to put it to use!
    Thanks for the tip!

  2. This fall I started running b/c I wanted to lose weight for a trip to Hawaii. I did the couch to 5k and actually did more than required on the program. After 2 months of running and finishing my first 5k I gained 2lbs!!!
    I have been doing Jorge Cruise’s Belly Fat Plan and he specifically says that you do not need to work out to lose weight (although he suggest moderate excersise). I have lost 4 pounds in 2 weeks and have just been walking on the treadmill every other day. Go figure!!

  3. I’ve had the same experience. Trained for a marathon relay and a triathlon relay with nothing to show for it. At my fittest, I was eating a healthy whole foods diet (lost about 10 – 15 pounds) and was fit simply due to living an urban lifestyle (walking everywhere) and doing a lot of yoga. The change in food certainly didn’t give me a six pack, but it was the reason I lose weight. The yoga made me fit – I”m sure weights, or good old calisthenics would work as well.

    Kristin – I think a search on interval training would give you some good info to start with or perhaps order her book online?

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention AHA Moment | Enter The Circle -- Topsy.com

  5. Cardio is still important but the research clearly shows that intensity is where it’s at. If you really want to see results then cut your carbs and do 3-4 intense weight training sessions per week. I think the secret is…..it’s really really hard to do both of those things! 🙂 People hate hard.

  6. Linda,

    Just read this… I’m a little behind. Great article…
    Funny though, I have gained some lbs.. and have gotten noticely flabbier over the past couple of months. Can you say STRESS…
    Anyway, I made the connection that since the 1/2 marathon in Oct. I litterly haven’t run at all…and I’m blaming it on the weather. But the whole time I WAS training… it just allowed me to maintain.
    No doubt best results for me come from eating less, cutting bad carbs, and LIFTING… 🙂
    My $.02
    HT

    • I enjoyed seeing the pictures having her literally illustrate to the readers how the different types of exercise were different in terms of her body shape.

Leave a Reply

